Email Print Site Map
Los Angeles County
University of California
Los Angeles County

Gardening Links

UC Internet Resources

Asian Citrus Psyllid - http://ucanr.edu/sites/acp/

Avocado Information - http://www.ucavo.ucr.edu/

Backyard Orchard - http://homeorchard.ucdavis.edu/

Beneficial Insects Poster - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/FAQ/natural-enemies-poster.pdf

Berries - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Berries/

California Agriculture - http://californiaagriculture.ucanr.org/

California Center for Urban Horticulture - http://ccuh.ucdavis.edu/

California Garden Web - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/

Center for Agroecology & Sustainable Food Systems - http://casfs.ucsc.edu/

Center for Invasive Species Research - http://cisr.ucr.edu/

Citrus Variety Collection - http://www.citrusvariety.ucr.edu/

Community Gardens (UC ANR Publication) - http://anrcatalog.ucdavis.edu/pdf/8499.pdf

Exotic and Invasive Pests - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/EXOTIC/index.html

Fire-Safe Landscaping – http://ucanr.edu/sites/SAFELandscapes/

Flowers - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Flowers/

Free Publications - http://ucanr.edu/freepubs/index.cfm

Fruits and Nuts Center - http://fruitsandnuts.ucdavis.edu/

Gardening  Basics - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/General/

Glossary of Gardening Terms, A-M - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Glossary/

Glossary of Gardening Terms, N-Z - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Glossary/Glossary__N-Z/

Grapes - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Growing_Grapes_in_the_California_Garden/

Healthy Lawns - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/TOOLS/TURF/

Honeybee Research and Information - http://bees.ucr.edu/

Indoor Plants - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Houseplants/

Integrated Pest Management Program - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/

Landscape Trees, Shrubs, Vines - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Landscape_Trees/

Lawns - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Lawns/

Natural Enemies - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/NE/index.html

Natural Environment Pests - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/NATURAL/index.html

Pest Notes - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/PESTNOTES/index.html

Pesticide and Toxicology Network - http://extoxnet.orst.edu/

Plant Native - http://www.plantnative.org/

Postharvest  Technology - http://postharvest.ucdavis.edu/

Safe and Poisonous Plants - http://ucanr.edu/sites/poisonous_safe_plants/

Small Farm Program - http://www.sfc.ucdavis.edu/

Soil Solarization for Gardens and Landscapes - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/PESTNOTES/pn74145.html

Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education Program - http://www.sarep.ucdavis.edu/

Sustainable Landscaping in California: How to Conserve Resources and Beautify Your Home Landscape - http://anrcatalog.ucdavis.edu/pdf/8504.pdf

Vegetable Research and Information Center - http://vric.ucdavis.edu/

Vegetables - http://ucanr.edu/sites/gardenweb/Vegetables/

Weed Photo Gallery - http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/weeds_intro.html

Weed Research and Information Center - http://wric.ucdavis.edu/

Publications Catalog - http://anrcatalog.ucdavis.edu/InOrder/Shop/Shop.asp

UCTV – Gardening and Agriculture - http://www.uctv.tv/gardening/

UC Riverside Botanic Garden - http://gardens.ucr.edu/


Non-UC Internet Resources
The inclusion of external links does not constitute endorsement by the University of California of external sites or the information or services contained therein. Also, it does not imply criticism of similar sites that are not mentioned. UCCE does not exercise any editorial control over the information found at external locations and does not guarantee their accuracy or reliability.

American Community Gardening Association – www.communitygarden.org

American Horticultural Therapy Association - http://ahta.org/

American Water Works Association - http://www.awwa.org/

Be Water Wise – www.bewaterwise.com

BugGuide - http://bugguide.net/node/view/15740

Cal Recycle – http://www.calrecycle.ca.gov/

California Department of Education, School Garden Program Overview - www.cde.ca.gov/ls/nu/he/gardenoverview.asp

California Food & Justice Coalition – www.cafoodjustice.org

California Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom – www.cfaitc.org

California Invasive Plant Council - http://www.cal-ipc.org/

California Native Plant Society, Los Angeles/Santa Monica Mountains Chapter - http://lasmmcnps.org/

California Poison Control System - http://www.calpoison.org/

California Rare Fruit Growers - www.crfg.org/

California School Garden Network – www.csgn.org/

California Regional Environmental Education Community - www.creec.org/

Drought Tolerant Garden – LA County -- http://file.lacounty.gov/green/cms1_188635.pdf

Certify Garden as Wildlife Habitat - http://www.nwf.org/How-to-Help/Garden-for-Wildlife/Certify-Your-Wildlife-Garden.aspx?campaignid=WH09ASLP&s_src=CWH_GoogleMini_SidebarFeature

Descanso Gardens - http://www.descansogardens.org/

Fallen Fruit - http://fallenfruit.org/

Free Mulch, City of Los Angeles – http://www.lacitysan.org/srpcd/mulch_giveaway.htm

Fullerton Arboretum - http://fullertonarboretum.org/home.php

Greater Los Angeles Vector Control District – www.glacvcd.org/

Huell Howser's "Green Gardener" video about recycling "useless" items into "new" garden tools (at Yvonne Savio's garden) – http://blogs.chapman.edu/huell-howser-archives/2004/09/04/californias-green-103-green-gardener/

Hungry Pests – USDA –  www.hungrypests.com/

Huntington Botanical Garden – www.huntington.org

International Society of Arboriculture -  http://www.isa-arbor.com/

Kids Gardening - http://www.kidsgardening.org/

Life Lab Science Program – www.lifelab.org

Los Angeles Community Garden Council – www.lagardencouncil.org

Los Angeles County – The Drought Tolerant Garden -- http://file.lacounty.gov/green/cms1_188635.pdf

Los Angeles County Agricultural Commissioner/Weights and Measures – http://acwm.lacounty.gov

Los Angeles County Arboretum & Botanic Garden - http://www.arboretum.org/

Los Angeles County West Vector and Vector-Borne Disease Control District – www.lawestvector.org

Mediterranean Garden Society – www.mediterraneangardensociety.org

National Pesticide Information Center - http://npic.orst.edu/capro/index.html

North East Trees – www.northeasttrees.org

Noxious Weed Information Project - http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/plant/ipc/noxweedinfo/noxweedinfo_hp.htm

Plant Hardiness – http://planthardiness.ars.usda.gov

Plant Right - www.plantright.org/

Pollinator Partnership - http://pollinator.org/PDFs/Guides/CalifCoastalWoodlandrx4FINAL.pdf

Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden - www.rsabg.org/

Smart Gardening Program – http://dpw.lacounty.gov/epd/sg/

Soil Survey - http://websoilsurvey.nrcs.usda.gov/app/

South Coast Botanic Garden - http://www.southcoastbotanicgarden.org/

Southern California Horticultural Society – www.socalhort.org

Southland Farmers Market Association - http://www.sfma.net/consumer/inseason.shtml

Theodore Payne Foundation for Wildflowers and Native Plants - www.theodorepayne.org/

TreePeople – www.treepeople.org

Tree Selection Guide - http://selectree.calpoly.edu/

Trees Are Good (International Society of Arboriculture) - http://www.treesaregood.org/

Water Use Efficiency - www.water.ca.gov/wateruseefficiency/landscapeordinance/technical.cfm

Waterwise Gardens of California, Los Angeles Area - http://www.usbr.gov/mp/watershare/resources/gardens/list.cfm?area=D

Webmaster Email: deekim@ucdavis.edu